skip navigation

Referee of the Year Award

The PRS Referee of the Year Award is given annually to a graduating high school senior who has demonstrated excellence in soccer officiating.  The award is determined by a vote of the PRS Referee Mentoring Committee and is based on the following factors:

  • Performed as a referee for PRS House League games and/or as an assistant referee for PRS club games for a minimum of four years.
  • On field evaluation by the PRS mentoring committee.
  • Other factors also considered include USSF registration and classroom referee test scores.

2017 Referee of the Year

Haley Mech has been chosen by the Mentoring Committee as the 2016 - 2017 Referee of the Year

Haley began her PRSC referee career as an Assistant Referee (AR) back when she was in 7th grade.  She remained as an AR until last spring.  In this capacity, she drew rave reviews from the Mentoring Committee and also a lot of nagging to take the whistle.  Last spring, Haley took us up on it and started taking House League Referee assignments.  And this spring, she stepped up and started doing Club centers.

Haley has played soccer in the PRSC program for years, including all 4 high school years in the Premier program.  She also played at Maine South through her junior year but took a break senior year to follow another passion and participated in the crew for the Maine South musical.  She has also participated in our TOPSoccer program.

In the fall, Haley will go off to Loyola Marymount to study animation.

We had the opportunity to talk with Haley as she came off the field from her last game.  It was a testament to her development as a referee - she told us she had a lot of fun.

Park Ridge Soccer Referees of the Year

  • 2016 - 2017    Haley Mech
  • 2015 - 2016    Declan Cannon and Bethany Lynn
  • 2014 - 2015    Daniel Tuzzolino and Claire Vinopal
  • 2013 - 2014    Brendan Faley
  • 2012 - 2013    Michael Solberg and Calvin Miller
  • 2011 - 2012    Tommy Cerri
  • 2010 - 2011    Dan Reardon
  • 2009 - 2010    Eric Greve
  • 2008 - 2009    Kyle Hannon
  • 2007 - 2008    Michael Telwak
  • 2006 - 2007    Chris Flynn
  • 2005 - 2006    Paul Cwik and Krista Porterfield
  • 2004 - 2005    Albert Gaudyn
  • 2003 - 2004    Chris Blankshain